Del Val Football set to be part of the newest NJ super conference


Photograph via Mr. Smith

Here is a picture of some high school level athletes. They aren’t paid now, and they shouldn’t be paid later on in their career.

Jack Markowski, The Delphi Editor

Starting in 2020, Del Val will be a part of the newest football conference in New Jersey.

Named the Big Central Football Conference, there will be 61 teams from Union, Somerset, Warren, Hunterdon and Middlesex counties that will make up 10 divisions. One of Del Val’s Division 2A rivals will be Voorhees, meaning that the school will have a Hunterdon/Warren rivalry game every season after not having one this past year.

Governor Livingston, Bernards, Hillside and North Plainfield, all of whom played Del Val last season, will round out the division, with Hillside and Bernards returning as division rivals of the Terriers from the Valley division in the Mid-State 38 conference. 

 The conference is comprised of a merger between the Greater Middlesex Conference (GMC) and Mid-State 38 with eyes at becoming one of the prominent conferences across the state. The divisions were formed based off of enrollment, or “group size,” while also prioritizing geographical significance and rivalries. The belief is that the conference will help teams put together stronger schedules while also bringing together a large group of teams to help prevent smaller Group 1 programs from having to face Group 2 teams. 

The conference will help revive old rivalries and bring in new ones while also creating a more competitive schedule that is more exciting for both the teams and the fans while bringing better football to the state of New Jersey. The division alignments under the BCFC will be as follows: 

Division 5A

Plainfield,Elizabeth, Union, Westfield, Watchung Hills

Division 5B

Phillipsburg, Hunterdon Central, Hillsborough, Franklin, Ridge, Bridgewater-Raritan

Division 5C

South Brunswick, J.P. Stevens, Perth Amboy, Old Bridge, East Brunswick, Monroe

Division 5D

Piscataway, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, Sayreville, St. Joseph (Met.), Edison

Division 4

Colonia, Cranford, Iselin Kennedy, Linden, Montgomery, North Hunterdon, Scotch Plains-Fanwood, Woodbridge

Division 3

Carteret, Immaculata, Rahway, Somerville, South Plainfield, Summit, Warren Hills

Division 2A

Bernards, Delaware Valley, Gov. Livingston, Hillside, North Plainfield, Voorhees

Division 2B

Johnson, Metuchen, Roselle, St. Thomas Aquinas, South River, Spotswood

Division 1A

Bound Brook, Brearley, Middlesex, New Providence, Roselle Park

Division 1B

Belvidere, Dayton, Dunellen, Highland Park, Manville, South Hunterdon